Entering Toddler-dom … Again

I can’t really say I have a toddler and a baby anymore. I have a kid and a toddler now. They’re growing up faster than I can handle. Days are just flying by – every day they can do something new. They’re both learning two languages – English and Swahili and nearly every day at least one of them says something I had no idea they knew how to say. It’s crazy and mind-blowing. I can hardly deal with the fact that I have a KID now! Not a toddler anymore …he’s almost 4 and a half and starts school in just over a month! 😦 And I’m quickly realising I don’t have a baby anymore in my youngest…it’s happening – he’s entering toddler-dom.

Toddlers are very interesting little people. Personalities are forming, likes and dislikes are very apparent (they make sure you know), and they’re in discovery mode ALL. THE. TIME. They want their little (or loud) voices to be heard all the time, even if they can’t really say much yet – you should be able to understand what they want from various whines and grunts and pointing. It’s a difficult thing I would think – knowing what you want but not being able to make those crazy adults in your life understand. At this point the temper tantrums make their entrance. Small at first – a single scream of frustration but before you know it your toddler is lying on the floor screaming uncontrollably. They don’t want to be pick up but don’t you dare just leave them there on the ground! All of this because you took them off their older brother’s bicycle which they can’t ride anyways. Oh the joys. The parenting joys. It’s all part of the ride. These moments are when you need to say to yourself:

YT03MDAmYj02MDAmYz1BdmVuaXImZD05NiZlPTQ0JmY9JTIzZmZmZmZmJmc9JTIzZmYwYTk3Jmg9S0VFUCZpPUNBTE0maj1BTkQmaz1QQVJFTlQmbD1PTiZtPWNyb3duLnBuZw

This too shall pass – faster than you could ever imagine. I remember my now-kid throwing temper tantrums – and while he still does have the odd break down (he’s only four) for the most part he’s outgrown that phase (and entered the constant question asking phase). It goes by too fast. Period. That’s what I try to remind myself when my new toddler is having a freak out of epic proportions on my kitchen floor. Soon he’ll be running off to school with his big bro and I’ll be the one crying in my empty, quiet kitchen.

Leave a Reply

Safari Nzuri

Katie in Tanzania

Musings in Mwanza

Things are what they are, we suffer because we imagined differently

salomonslivingabroad

Family, adventure, and ministry all rolled into one!

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

Kathy's Adventures

my God inspired leap of faith serving in Honduras

McAlisters

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

[Room]ination

the corners of my mind

Jeromey Martini's blog

A blog about Christian leadership, the New Testament - and anything else that comes to mind

jeannellyjay

Your life is a time to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all aspects of you. Tinker with shit, pack light && travel far. Explore, love a little, smile a lot, && never, ever touch the ground. It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself & to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary!

STOPOVER

En Route ... But Aren't We All?

BIRD'S EYE VIEW

Scrutinising the Story Behind the Story - Bold & Edifying

The Upside-Down Kingdom

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

The Martins' Western Adventures

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

isn't that the craziest thing

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

New and Better Everyday

Dreaming. Living. Believing

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

