Trying to be less of a Sweetie

sugar

Apparently I’m too much of a sweetie – according to my scale at least. ūüėČ

This is an on-going journey for me – a long one with many ups and downs. In the last 14 months since I gave birth to my second baby, honestly I haven’t made the strides I thought I would have by now as far as my weight loss goals. At least I haven’t put more weight on after the pregnancy which is what happened with my first.

At the same time the flip side of not reaching my goals yet is to look at what I have accomplished in the last 14 months.

I have brought a new little person into the world.

I have become of a mother of two and have adjusted to taking care of two little boys.

I managed to survive 5 months of non-stop traveling and fund-raising in Canada with a 3 year old and a newborn along for the ride.

I managed to complete several training modules, lots of paperwork and personality tests and other meetings as part of becoming a long-term Global Worker with our organisation, the PAOC. (All while getting up an average of 3-4 times a night with my newborn).

I stood in BOTH of my sisters’ weddings and was able to celebrate with them which was really special.

I visited lots of friends and family and we made the most of our six-month stay in Canada.

I managed to pack up our lives (14 checked bags later), get on two different planes for a 26-ish hour journey with a toddler and a newborn (and my Hubby) and move our family across the world, again.

I have managed to adapt to a new city in a country that’s not my own while juggling parenting and learning a new job.

I continue to learn a new language and become comfortable in it.

I have met many new friends and have made a home here in Mwanza.

None of the above-mentioned things are small matters. It wasn’t easy – but I did it. When I look back – even though I haven’t reached my weight-loss goals yet – I can see that I have managed to do many things in the last year or so. Now that I feel a bit settled I have started to re-focus again and get back to my health goals. Day by day, I’ll get there. I don’t want to put a time-limit on it. It more than often doesn’t work for me and I am realising that this is my life-long journey. There’s no time-limit. I simply do my best each day and hopefully get better over time. It’s about striving for that balance in life that is so key. So while yes, I am definitely trying to be less of a sweetie in regards to what I eat –¬†I can also recognise that there is so much more to my journey to be a whole and healthy person. I need to celebrate all the things I HAVE been able to accomplish at the same time that I continue to work towards what I haven’t yet accomplished.

When I look back over the last 14 months sometimes I can’t believe what I managed to do! It was A LOT! It makes me happy and proud of myself and that kind of positive thinking about myself can only spur me on to even greater accomplishments.

So – bring it on! I’m ready for what’s next and I’m excited to continue on this journey, becoming better each day. Remember to focus on what you have ALREADY accomplished – even if you’re not there yet – you need to celebrate along the way because no matter what, you’re farther than you were yesterday.

10382162_10152938080756961_3718487652955228219_n

Leave a Reply

Safari Nzuri

Katie in Tanzania

Musings in Mwanza

Things are what they are, we suffer because we imagined differently

salomonslivingabroad

Family, adventure, and ministry all rolled into one!

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

Kathy's Adventures

my God inspired leap of faith serving in Honduras

McAlisters

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

[Room]ination

the corners of my mind

Jeromey Martini's blog

A blog about Christian leadership, the New Testament - and anything else that comes to mind

jeannellyjay

Your life is a time to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all aspects of you. Tinker with shit, pack light && travel far. Explore, love a little, smile a lot, && never, ever touch the ground. It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself & to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary!

STOPOVER

En Route ... But Aren't We All?

BIRD'S EYE VIEW

Scrutinising the Story Behind the Story - Bold & Edifying

The Upside-Down Kingdom

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

The Martins' Western Adventures

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

isn't that the craziest thing

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

New and Better Everyday

Dreaming. Living. Believing

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

