That Ugly Word

While there are many words that might be considered “ugly” I am talking about one specific one today. If you have ever had a challenge with maintaing a healthy weight and lifestyle – you know the word I mean. FAT. I honestly don’t even like saying it. I avoid it at all costs – it carries with it so many negative associations for me. But the truth is – while I hate to admit it – I am that word.

50-Best-Minions-Humor-Quotes-Humor-Funny

However in recent days and weeks I have been trying to look at things a little differently. I have been trying to focus on the positive – on what I want to achieve rather than getting down about what I currently am because that can be a vicious cycle.  Through the good choices I make about food and physical activity I can change and leave that word behind me. I have the absolute ability to do this.

While I know this to be true – in my head – sometimes (all the time)  it’s much harder to live out day to day. Anyone who struggles with their weight knows exactly what I mean. It’s easy to start – it’s very difficult to be consistent and make a complete lifestyle change that lasts. But that’s the goal.  I am figuring out that if I want to leave that word behind me I have to do a few things…

1. Accept it.

This one is hard but I can’t let go of it and move forward in a healthy way until I have accepted that word as it relates to me. If I want to leave it behind and make healthy choices I first have to accept the fact that there is a pressing need because the truth is I am that word. That is the reality.

2. Take one day at a time.

Setting these huge year-long goals and thinking 50 lbs down the road can be good for that initial motivation needed to start but after that it just becomes about the day-to-day choices I make. I need to take baby steps and just get through each day making the right choices without thinking too far ahead because that can easily become overwhelming.

3. Get lots of support.

It’s impossible to move away from negative and addictive behaviour without a strong support system. This is not something that can be done alone while hiding from the world. I have to be open and willing to accept any and all support I can get. (Which is part of why I blog about my challenge to lose the weight). By putting it out there publicly I am opening myself up to receive more support, encouragement and accountability.

So while I can’t tell you I will be 50 lbs lighter in 6 months or a year – I can tell you that today I am choosing to make wise decisions about what I put into my body and I am choosing to be intentional about getting my physical activity in. And that’s it. Today I will win the battle. I will face tomorrow when it comes. And day by day I hope to make a lifestyle change. However long it takes is really irrelevant. It will take as long as it takes and no matter how long it takes – it will be worth it.

And while for now, of course, I am associated with that word…it doesn’t define who I am. Instead I try to focus on the positive and healthy changes I am making which will make my life even more full and vibrant than it already is.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sthomson82
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 14:44:31

    Hey Jade! A good and honest read and a struggle I can relate to 🙂 I have really benefited from blogs and articles seeking to reclaim the dreaded F-word and advocating that we use it merely as a descriptive term instead of one that intends to induce shame or disrespect (http://msfitmag.com and many others). I think there is so much benefit from seeking health instead of seeking thinness, and understanding that our bodies are all so very different, so instead of seeking to be one size, we can seek health at every size. It becomes more about the capacity of our bodies, the wellness we feel, and our physical strength than about thinness, a shift that I welcome with open arms (fat arms maybe ;)).

    Wishing you well on this journey and as much grace as you can muster for yourself 🙂

    Reply

  2. jadekenya
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 16:16:03

    Thanks so much Shannon. 🙂 Agree completely and appreciate the encouragement!

    Reply

  3. kmizen
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 16:28:19

    Thanks for sharing Jade! All of us girls need to stick together, we all struggle with this issue no matter what size we are. Society makes us feel insignificant – skinny, tall, fat or short. No one is perfect.
    Here in Honduras ‘Gordito’ or ‘Gordo’ is an term of affection! haha Chubby or Fat, really!??!!

    Reply

  4. Christine Davidson
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 17:53:06

    After many years of “being fat” (as society says) I have come to the conclusion that while I may “have fat” I am NOT fat…I am a Wife, Mother, Nana, Aunt, Sister and friend. I am a caring, kind, considerate, friendly, diligent, loyal, loving person. I have fat, but fat is not who I am. In recent months I have concentrated on making healthier choices with food and exercise. What happens to the fat I have after that, well, I have no control over that past making these healthier choices. I choose to concentrate on my health, not what I look like. I want to be so much more than what I look like. I want to be all the things that will make people remember me after I’m gone. As J.K Rowling said, “Is fat really the worst thing a human can be? Is it worse that vindictive, jealous, shallow, vain, boring, evil or cruel? Not to me”

    Reply

  5. jadekenya
    Jun 05, 2015 @ 11:16:31

    You are right Kathy. We unfortunately live in a very shallow society. But the value of people in not in what they look like – but in their character – who they are. I think it would be a very different world if we judged people by their heart and not their waist size. 🙂 Also here in Tanzania – if someone tells you you have gained weight – it’s a compliment – means you’re doing well! Still hard for me to get used to – or to accept as a compliment but sure does make you think.

    And Mom – I love you! You’re the best – wise words. You are always the number one lady I am trying to emulate. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Safari Nzuri

Katie in Tanzania

The space in between

Because most days we live in the mess in the middle

salomonslivingabroad

Family, adventure, and ministry all rolled into one!

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

Kathy's Adventures

my God inspired leap of faith serving in Honduras

McAlisters

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

[Room]ination

the corners of my mind

Jeromey Martini's blog

A blog about Christian leadership, the New Testament - and anything else that comes to mind

jeannellyjay

Your life is a time to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all aspects of you. Tinker with shit, pack light && travel far. Explore, love a little, smile a lot, && never, ever touch the ground. It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself & to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary!

STOPOVER

En Route ... But Aren't We All?

BIRD'S EYE VIEW

Scrutinising the Story Behind the Story - Bold & Edifying

The Upside-Down Kingdom

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

The Martins' Western Adventures

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

isn't that the craziest thing

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

New and Better Everyday

Dreaming. Living. Believing

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

