A Generous Heart

Today I am challenged by this word: generosity.

It’s a word that is used a lot. It’s used in many different situations. Some of us may have become kind of used to this word without really stopping to consider what true generosity means; what it looks like practically.

It’s easy to say you want to be a generous person. I think most people probably do. But how are you practically living that out on a daily basis? How does your life show that you are generous? Would other people call you generous? These are difficult questions to answer sometimes. It’s easy to say you are generous or that you aspire to be a generous person, but the true measure of that is if other people would also agree.

I sincerely hope that others would call me generous. I am striving to be a generous person in every way. I want to have a generous heart. I’m still figuring out exactly what that looks like on a daily basis, but here are a few thoughts…

Generous people give without expectations 

To be truly generous you must give without expecting any pay back. If you expect something (anything) in return for your act of kindness, than it’s not really kindness it’s just business. This also means giving sometimes without even expecting a thank you. Simply giving because you know it’s the right thing to do; you are there and you’re able to help.

Generous people give what they can

Sometimes I think we can hold back our generosity because we feel the need(s) are too big. We can’t help in any “significant” way – so we don’t help at all. This is tragic. Any help – is help. Even a small act can go a long way – and you may never know the impact. Being generous even when we feel it’s only a drop in the ocean is still being generous. Do what you can. There is no act, no amount, no time that is too little to give. It all counts.

just-feed-one

Generous people know that you gain when you give

Generosity is such a powerful thing. As much as you may help that other person or that group of people, something very special and amazing happens inside of you when you give. It brings joy – not just a good feeling – but true joy. Just try it – I guarantee the more you give the happier you will become. You know why? Because the focus changes from an inward, selfish me, me, me mentality to thinking outside of yourself, considering others, knowing you can make a difference and that always feels better that just being self-centred.

qitem.php

Generous people know there are no limits to giving

Truly generous people have figured this one out. You can’t give too much. It’s impossible. The more you give, the more you have to give. It just grows. Whether it’s time, support, finances, compassion, etc. – the more you give out the more you have to give out again and again. It’s an amazing thing. If you don’t believe me then just try it. 🙂 You’ll see. You can’t out-give God. God will continue to give you more so that you you can pass it on and continue blessing many.

images-13

Generous people change the world

One small act at a time…that’s what makes the big difference. Everyone has a part to play. If you give without expectations, if you give what you can, if you realise the joy in giving and you know you can never give too much you will make a difference. You may not even ever know the impact you had, but I’m sure it will be bigger that you could imagine. Want to change the world? Want to make a difference in the lives of people around you? Start giving. Seek to have a generous heart and watch what happens.

Enjoy the ride!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Claire Cormier.
    May 30, 2015 @ 23:38:59

    Well said

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Safari Nzuri

Katie in Tanzania

Musings in Mwanza

Things are what they are, we suffer because we imagined differently

salomonslivingabroad

Family, adventure, and ministry all rolled into one!

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

Kathy's Adventures

my God inspired leap of faith serving in Honduras

McAlisters

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

[Room]ination

the corners of my mind

Jeromey Martini's blog

A blog about Christian leadership, the New Testament - and anything else that comes to mind

jeannellyjay

Your life is a time to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all aspects of you. Tinker with shit, pack light && travel far. Explore, love a little, smile a lot, && never, ever touch the ground. It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself & to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary!

STOPOVER

En Route ... But Aren't We All?

BIRD'S EYE VIEW

Scrutinising the Story Behind the Story - Bold & Edifying

The Upside-Down Kingdom

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

The Martins' Western Adventures

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

isn't that the craziest thing

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

New and Better Everyday

Dreaming. Living. Believing

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

