Why I Love Being Married

I don’t know if it’s the season we’re in or the peace we have in what we’re doing now in Tanzania or what — but lately I  just feel so in love with my Hubby. I know what you’re thinking – yes of course, I always love my husband but sometimes those feelings of love can be harder to come by that other times.  I’m generally not a super mushy person but let me say I’ve been feeling quite mushy lately and I’m loving it! Whatever the reason, through the highs and the lows I truly love being married. I think it’s the greatest adventure of life. I feel so blessed that I get to do life with my amazing Husband. We don’t know what tomorrow will hold but we know we will face it all together and there is great peace in that. OK. Mushiness aside for a minute…here are my top 10 reasons why I love being married.

Reason # 1 – Someone to listen to me

OK. I admit it. Sometimes I can talk a lot. I’m a girl – it’s what we do 😉 I am thankful for a Husband that (for the most part) listens to me – to my stories, to my complaints, to my worries, to my fears, to my excitement – to everything! It feels great to have someone that is always interested in YOU. That genuinely cares about what you have to say (most of the time – as I know sometimes I wouldn’t even want to listen to me).

Reason # 2 – Someone to make memories with

I am a very nostalgic person. I like looking at old photographs, I like reminiscing about old memories – it brings me joy. I’m not stuck in the past by any means but I do appreciate looking back at where I’ve come from. I find this even more amazing to do with my Husband. We’ve only been married 6.5 years but in that time we have lived in Canada and in two different places in Tanzania. We have traveled, we have had two beautiful sons, we have had several different jobs – it’s been kind of a whirlwind of constant change – but through it all we have made some pretty amazing memories together that I wouldn’t trade for the world.

Reason # 3 – Someone to learn with

Learning together is another great thing about marriage. We’re never going to have it all figured out – but we learn as we go. We have learned so much about each other; about how we think, how we operate, what makes us tick etc. And we still have lots of learning to do!

Reason # 4 – Someone to sleep beside.

It’s just the best thing ever! Now, while I do enjoy having the bed to myself every once in a while when the Hubby travels, the rest of the time I really do enjoy having him sleep beside me. (With the exception of when he tries to sleep diagonally across the bed and I have to kick him so he’ll move). 🙂 There is some kind of security and intimacy in just sleeping (literally) with someone.

Reason # 5 – Someone to put me in my place (once in a while)

Every now and then I need a good, “Jade you’re wrong” moment. Keeps me humble and less selfish. Husbands are great for this 😉 All jokes aside – I am thankful for a Husband who can tell me when I’m wrong in a loving way and who encourages me every day to do and to be better.

Reason # 6 – Warding off unwanted conversations/attention

This one might be more specific to me since I’m living in Tanzania…but because I kinda of stand out here (blonde hair, blue eyes etc.) sometimes I will get some people (men) striking up random conversations with me and it’s not just that they’re being friendly if you know what I mean. This is uncomfortable and awkward and I just plain don’t like it. But because I’m married I can usually easily get out of these awkward encounters fairly quickly. At the soonest opportunity available in the conversation I am quick to mention my husband and our family – Works like a charm.

Reason # 7 – The security of knowing someone else has your back – always

It doesn’t take a lot. A quick kiss on the cheek, his hand on my back, a quick squeeze of my hand and I know – all is well. These are small actions that we can sometimes take for granted or not really even acknowledge but the truth is they mean a lot. They convey and affirm love. They communicate warmth and security.

Reason # 8 – The company

I am more introverted than extroverted but at the same time I don’t really need time COMPLETELY alone. Time with my family and no outsiders – yes, but completely by myself? – No. I get bored easily and I enjoy being around someone else. My favourite person hang out with of course is my Hubby. I love that I don’t get sick of being around him (except for possibly the odd time when I’m probably PMS-ing ;)). It’s great to have someone to hang out with all the time even when it’s not really doing much of anything – just chatting, watching a TV show or playing with the kids together.

Reason # 9 – HUGS

I think there is some kind of science that has proved that hugs actually make people feel better; I read something, I can’t remember where but I’m pretty sure it’s true. How’s that for a fact?  Now I don’t think anyone else would describe me as a very touchy feely person but I find myself different with my Husband. There is something great about being able to just reach out and hug someone and have them hug you back and it’s never awkward or weird – it’s just normal and comforting. His arms around me make me feel secure and loved and it’s great to be able to have that all the time.

Reason # 10 – Ending and beginning each day together

I love the late night talks as we lie in bed; going over our day – the good, the bad, the ugly. Finding support, encouragement, laughter and strength. Then as well waking up to a brand new day with that same someone by your side, ready to do it all over again with you; another day, another fresh start together.

DSC_0386

If you’re married, why do you think it’s so great? (I’m assuming you do) 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Claire Cormier.
    May 27, 2015 @ 21:53:49

    Loved reading this. I can tell you are really in love. You should go into marriage counselling & use yourself as an example. God bless you both & your children.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Safari Nzuri

Katie in Tanzania

Musings in Mwanza

Things are what they are, we suffer because we imagined differently

salomonslivingabroad

Family, adventure, and ministry all rolled into one!

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

Kathy's Adventures

my God inspired leap of faith serving in Honduras

McAlisters

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

[Room]ination

the corners of my mind

Jeromey Martini's blog

A blog about Christian leadership, the New Testament - and anything else that comes to mind

jeannellyjay

Your life is a time to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all aspects of you. Tinker with shit, pack light && travel far. Explore, love a little, smile a lot, && never, ever touch the ground. It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself & to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary!

STOPOVER

En Route ... But Aren't We All?

BIRD'S EYE VIEW

Scrutinising the Story Behind the Story - Bold & Edifying

The Upside-Down Kingdom

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

The Martins' Western Adventures

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

isn't that the craziest thing

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

New and Better Everyday

Dreaming. Living. Believing

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

