My ‘Mommy Sanity Savers’

Since becoming a mom almost 4 years ago, I have had my share of ups and downs. I’ve been so tired I can barely remember my name, let alone yours. I’ve been so frustrated that all I can do is cry. I have also laughed more than I ever have before. Motherhood is such a crazy thing; greater than you could have ever imagined while at the same time more challenging that you could have ever imagined.

While I do have some friends who are mommies – those are not the kind of ‘friends’ I want to talk about today. They’re important – you need people you can vent to and tell your stories to who will laugh and cry with you and just ‘get it.’ But in addition to real-life human friends – there are a few other things that I have become very close to and really can’t do without since having children. They keep me sane (or close). Here’s the list…

 

  1. COFFEE. COFFEE. COFFEE. I never used to be much of a coffee drinker before kids. I’d have it once in a while, maybe a specialty coffee for a treat but I never was one of those “I MUST HAVE MY COFFEE EVERY MORNING OR ELSE” type of people. Since having kids, I have become one of those above-mentioned people. If you’re talking to me and it’s before I’ve had coffee, I’m sorry. I don’t mean to be so grumpy and nasty and forgetful, but I was woken up 3 times last night by a crying baby and once by my toddler who had wet his bed, so forgive me if I seem a little off – let me finish my coffee and then – we’ll talk.

  2. My Phone. I admit it, I am probably one of those annoying moms who always has her phone and is always snapping pictures of the kids, but I can’t help it – they’re too cute and I just HAVE to share the cuteness with the world. I need to have it close by to catch that cute expression or take a video of an adorable interaction. This has become even more important now that we live overseas and are far away from family and friends. I want to make sure everyone is getting lots of updates on the kids and pictures and videos– it eases my guilt a little about ripping the kids away from their grandparents, aunts and uncles. (No one misses us, it’s all about the kids – it’s ok – we’ve accepted that). 🙂

    Photo Credit: newlaunches.com

    Photo Credit: newlaunches.com

  3. Concealer. I’m not a huge make-up person, never have been. The most I ever wear unless I’m in a wedding or something is a bit of mascara and lip-gloss and CONCEALER. This was an addition I added AFTER the children came along. Otherwise the dark circles under my eyes would give away my lack of sleep before I had the chance to tell you about it.

    Photo Credit: hellomagazine.com

    Photo Credit: hellomagazine.com

  4. A good cup of tea and an Episode (or 4) of Gilmore Girls. After the kids are (finally) in bed and the house is quiet (and dinner is cleaned up and things are laid out for the next morning) there is nothing like sitting down with my tea and escaping into Stars Hollow with Lorelei and Rori. It’s an hour (or two) of fluff and it gives my mind a break from thinking about the hundreds of tasks that I need to finish. Everyone needs an escape. Moms especially – or we’ll go crazy.

    Photo Credit: ultimategilmoregirls.wikia.com

    Photo Credit: ultimategilmoregirls.wikia.com

  5. Now I’ve always been a fan of chocolate, but it has so much more meaning now – when it’s a reward I give myself for making it through the whole day without killing my children. 🙂

 

What keeps you sane as a Mom? What can’t you go without since having your kids?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rngobia
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 15:49:42

    Honestly..since i started reading your articles u’ve really made motherhood seem very simple and fun…Honestly am looking forward to having kids of my own soon…

    Reply

    • jadekenya
      Nov 06, 2014 @ 16:20:49

      Thanks 🙂 Motherhood is an adventure. Not every day is easy but the amazing moments by far make up for the crazy difficult ones. You learn as you go – don’t be too hard on yourself and learn to laugh, that’s the best advice I can give. I’m sure you’ll be a great Mom. Thanks for reading.

      Reply

  2. kmizen
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 18:03:29

    Okay not a mom, but I love your list!!! 🙂 And I especially love Gilmore Girls… may have to start watching from Season 1 again….

    Reply

  3. jadekenya
    Nov 07, 2014 @ 09:48:08

    I’ve just started from the beginning of GG again 🙂 I never get sick of it. It’s my perfect escape.

    Reply

  4. rngobia
    Nov 10, 2014 @ 11:28:48

    Jade I pray that i will actually make a great one

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Safari Nzuri

Katie in Tanzania

The space in between

Because most days we live in the mess in the middle

salomonslivingabroad

Family, adventure, and ministry all rolled into one!

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

Kathy's Adventures

my God inspired leap of faith serving in Honduras

McAlisters

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

[Room]ination

the corners of my mind

Jeromey Martini's blog

A blog about Christian leadership, the New Testament - and anything else that comes to mind

jeannellyjay

Your life is a time to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all aspects of you. Tinker with shit, pack light && travel far. Explore, love a little, smile a lot, && never, ever touch the ground. It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself & to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary!

STOPOVER

En Route ... But Aren't We All?

BIRD'S EYE VIEW

Scrutinising the Story Behind the Story - Bold & Edifying

The Upside-Down Kingdom

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

The Martins' Western Adventures

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

isn't that the craziest thing

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

New and Better Everyday

Dreaming. Living. Believing

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

