I Am Canadian and I Choose Hope Instead of Fear

It was extremely surreal to turn on CNN last night here in Mwanza, Tanzania and see BREAKING NEWS of a shooting in CANADA! I almost didn’t believe it at first! Things like this just don’t happen in Canada! Canada rarely makes it onto CNN breaking news!  But despite my disbelief, there it was, right in front of me. A shooting in our nation’s capital. It’s still sinking in, a day later.

I am truly saddened by the events in Ottawa yesterday. I’m heartbroken for the family of the Soldier who was killed so senselessly. I pray for them in this time of incredible grief. I am also praying for our leaders at this time. They need wisdom and courage – these are increasingly difficult times to be a leader of a nation.

However, despite all the shock and sadness and questioning – I am just reminding myself that God is still sovereign. This attack did not take Him by surprise. At the same time I know He has not and will not forget Canada or any other part of the world for that matter. When horrible things happen it’s easy to blame God or to use them as reasons for why He is not a loving God or why He is not caring etc. But the truth is, we live in an evil world. Bad things have happened, are happening and will continue to happen. I am convinced that they break God’s heart even more than ours. His love for us is still as real as ever. He has not left us or forgotten us. He is with us. Always. When awful things like this happen it’s a reminder to reach out to Him for peace, comfort and security.

There is no point in living in fear because of what’s happening in the world. I find it ironic in a way – since many people have expressed their concerns and worry about us living in Africa because “it’s dangerous.” But yesterday’s events show that it’s not about where you live – you can’t escape all danger, all the time. While it’s good to be vigilant and careful, it’s also good to live a free and exciting and happy life. We can’t let these events allow us to live in fear. Danger is potentially everywhere – you can’t escape it. Peace comes from knowing who holds your life. I know that whether I’m in Canada or in Tanzania, God has my life in His hands and I trust Him completely. I refuse to live my life in fear of what “might happen.” I choose to live my life to the fullest – making decisions not based on fear but based on hope. Just as Prime Minister Steven Harper said of Canada, “We will not be intimidated…” let’s also personally choose to say, we will not be intimidated.

Live your life. Spread hope and joy not fear. Look for the helpers and heroes amidst the chaos of events like yesterday.

“When you can’t trace God’s hand, trust His heart.” 

if-god-is-for-us-who-can-be-against-us-romans-8_31

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. rachelmonger
    Oct 23, 2014 @ 13:29:43

    Amen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Safari Nzuri

Katie in Tanzania

The space in between

Because most days we live in the mess in the middle

salomonslivingabroad

Family, adventure, and ministry all rolled into one!

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

Kathy's Adventures

my God inspired leap of faith serving in Honduras

McAlisters

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

[Room]ination

the corners of my mind

Jeromey Martini's blog

A blog about Christian leadership, the New Testament - and anything else that comes to mind

jeannellyjay

Your life is a time to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all aspects of you. Tinker with shit, pack light && travel far. Explore, love a little, smile a lot, && never, ever touch the ground. It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself & to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary!

STOPOVER

En Route ... But Aren't We All?

BIRD'S EYE VIEW

Scrutinising the Story Behind the Story - Bold & Edifying

The Upside-Down Kingdom

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

The Martins' Western Adventures

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

isn't that the craziest thing

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

New and Better Everyday

Dreaming. Living. Believing

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

