My slightly late ‘Thankful Post’

Between moving across the world, starting a new job, and having a nasty cold go through our house I haven’t managed to write anything in a while. But I’ve wanted to. It’s just this TIME thing, you know, not having enough of it. My days lately are full of learning (a new language, a new job, names of new people, my way around town),  unpacking (I’m almost done now), taking care of my two cutie-pie boys, occasionally having a nice chat with the Hubby and trying to get to bed at a decent hour before waking up to do it all over again. But as they say (whoever ‘they’ are – I don’t have time to find out), better late than never.

Despite being incredibly busy  – I am also incredibly thankful. And since it was the Canadian Thanksgiving a few days ago…here I go:

10 Reasons I’m Thankful (I’ve narrowed it down so you’re not here all day – though I could go on and on) 🙂

1.  I am thankful for the opportunity I’ve had to travel and not only ‘see’ new places but actually live in different cultures.

There is so much growth that comes from getting out of your comfort zone, your bubble, whatever you want to call it – consider getting out of it! There is loads of freedom and learning and growing and changing that just cannot happen while you’re super ‘comfy.’  

2.  I am thankful for God’s unending love for me. Where would I be without His love? 

3.  I am thankful for my amazing Husband. 

Every day he manages to: make me laugh, make me feel beautiful, assure me that I can do whatever it is I’m trying to do, encourage me, make me feel secure, challenge me, help me grow, give of himself, be a wonderful Father to our boys, and a million other little things that make me SO thankful God brought us together.

4. I am thankful for my beautiful children. 

My boys are the biggest blessing in my life. Every day they remind me what is really important. They are truly gifts from God and sometimes I can’t believe God chose me to be their Mommy. I am honoured truly. They are the loves of my life.

5. New friends

We are in a new place again which can be challenging, but it’s also refreshing. I am thankful today for the opportunity once again to make new friendships.

6. I am thankful for access to good healthcare and medicines

This might be TMI but….I started writing this post yesterday and then got very sick from last evening…I don’t know whether it’s a stomach bug or malaria (I’m going to test) or I ate something bad, but man oh man was I sick yesterday. Which makes me all the more grateful that I have access to good medicines at home and good healthcare if need be at the hospital. I know many people around the world do not.

7. I am thankful for my parents

My parents are probably my biggest role models and the people I look to most for support and advice. They have always been there for me and they are a wonderful example to me: of a great marriage, of excellent leadership, and of how to raise Godly kids. If I can manage to do half the job they have done, with my children I will be incredibly grateful.

8. I am thankful for internet and other modern technological advances and conveniences 

Without the internet and smart phones and computers I wouldn’t be able to stay connected to my family and friends while living so far away. It’s hard sometimes to be so far, but I am thankful that we can be as connected as we are because of these mediums.

9.  I am thankful for coffee. 

Enough said.

10. I am thankful to God for the path He has placed me on. I truly love my life. I know I am one VERY blessed person. 

 

What are you thankful for? (It’s a good exercise to do often – not just once a year at Thanksgiving – You might be surprised when you sit down and count your blessings). 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patti
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 14:00:30

    Yes, especially to #1. I Haven’t been able to live in other cultures, but I have been able to stay there for awhile. Not in hotels visiting tourist attractions. It changes everything.

    I think practicing thankfulness is one of the most powerful things we can do. 😀

    And as you know, I am also SUPER thankful for coffee!

    Reply

  2. Rachel Monger
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 14:15:21

    Happy Thanksgiving, fellow Canadian!! Do hope you are feeling better soon 🙂 Love Rachel

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Safari Nzuri

Katie in Tanzania

Musings in Mwanza

Things are what they are, we suffer because we imagined differently

salomonslivingabroad

Family, adventure, and ministry all rolled into one!

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

Kathy's Adventures

my God inspired leap of faith serving in Honduras

McAlisters

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

[Room]ination

the corners of my mind

Jeromey Martini's blog

A blog about Christian leadership, the New Testament - and anything else that comes to mind

jeannellyjay

Your life is a time to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all aspects of you. Tinker with shit, pack light && travel far. Explore, love a little, smile a lot, && never, ever touch the ground. It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself & to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary!

STOPOVER

En Route ... But Aren't We All?

BIRD'S EYE VIEW

Scrutinising the Story Behind the Story - Bold & Edifying

The Upside-Down Kingdom

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

The Martins' Western Adventures

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

isn't that the craziest thing

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

New and Better Everyday

Dreaming. Living. Believing

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

