Chubby (and not loving it)

IMG_1414

[My adorable (and chubby) baby boy (6 weeks old).]

I wish I could be “chubby and loving it.”  Like a baby. (I think they’re the only ones who are truly chubby and loving it). I always say jokingly to my new little guy, “Rock the chubby look while it’s cute!” and there most definitely comes a time when chubby is just not cute at all. I am very far past the “chubby is cute” age. It’s LONG gone.  I cannot be chubby – and love it. It’s not happening.

I hate that word – “chubby.” It’s amazing how a word can be so cute when it’s said about a baby and so NOT cute when it’s said about anyone past the age of about six, really. Whatever you want to call it – chubby, fat, large, overweight, chunky (I hate all of these words by the way) – to put it nicely – I am not at my ideal weight. I don’t mean my ideal weight according to some height/weight chart or Hollywood’s version of my ideal weight, I mean the weight where I feel comfortable in my own skin. The weight where I’m able to be active and healthy and happy with my body. That’s the magic number I’m striving for. I don’t even know what it is (I have an estimate) but I’ll know it when I get there, that’s for sure.

Now that Gabriel is almost two months old, I’m really starting to feel the pressure and I am getting a bit anxious about shedding the final pregnancy weight (and some additional pounds after that) and finally getting to my goal. I know I can do it, but at the same time I haven’t gotten there yet and some days it can be discouraging. (Mostly those days when I’ve eaten everything in sight, I’m feeling disgusting and yet still choose to eat a chocolate bar anyways).  Nonetheless, I am trying to take it day by day and and focus on trying to be consistent and do the best I can, considering I don’t have much free time. 😉

As I was thinking about writing this blog; thinking about my body (I’ll admit, in mostly a negative way) I remembered reading something on another blog (which I now forget and so can’t give credit). She was talking about all the amazing things her body has done and I could relate, and when I thought about it and figured out just exactly what my body has been able to do, it changed my perspective.

So here are 10 amazing things this body of mine has done/does:

1.  This body carries me wherever I want to go. It is generally healthy and strong and let’s me accomplish all of my daily tasks (which are many, these days).

2. This body has been a home for a little, growing person- twice.

3. This body has delivered two beautiful, healthy baby boys.

4. This body is what I use to show affection and love – to my husband, my children, my family and friends. (I need to be thankful for seemingly small things like this as there are many people who’s bodies can’t do these ‘normal actions’ because of sickness, disease or accidents- hugs, kisses, handshakes, etc.)

5.  This body holds and comforts my babies.

6. This body houses my mind, my thoughts, my emotions – all of who I am.

7. This body allows me to serve and help others.

8. This body has provided approximately 2240 meals for my babies (so far).

9. This body allows me to travel around the world; to see beautiful places and people.

10. This body is there for me even when I’m not there for it, like I should be. It’s gotten me this far.

Yes, I still want to lose some weight and get healthier, but I am reminded that I need to be proud of this body, because it really is quite amazing.

While no one wants to be chubby (or insert any insecurity you have about your body), could we just take a moment today and appreciate all that our bodies do for us?  Maybe it will make you think differently next time you look in the mirror.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jeannellyjay
    May 21, 2014 @ 23:24:33

    Women are amazing beings! You’ll get to your goal weight in no time! I just wrote a blog about my weightloss as I remember the challenges, i too, faced!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Safari Nzuri

Katie in Tanzania

The space in between

Because most days we live in the mess in the middle

salomonslivingabroad

Family, adventure, and ministry all rolled into one!

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

Kathy's Adventures

my God inspired leap of faith serving in Honduras

McAlisters

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

[Room]ination

the corners of my mind

Jeromey Martini's blog

A blog about Christian leadership, the New Testament - and anything else that comes to mind

jeannellyjay

Your life is a time to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all aspects of you. Tinker with shit, pack light && travel far. Explore, love a little, smile a lot, && never, ever touch the ground. It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself & to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary!

STOPOVER

En Route ... But Aren't We All?

BIRD'S EYE VIEW

Scrutinising the Story Behind the Story - Bold & Edifying

The Upside-Down Kingdom

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

The Martins' Western Adventures

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

isn't that the craziest thing

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

New and Better Everyday

Dreaming. Living. Believing

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

