I’m Pregnant! (Isn’t that a good excuse for everything?!)

So if you know me or follow me on facebook, you’ll know that I’m pregnant again – expecting our second baby. Which is why I have been a MIA for the last few weeks. I really don’t like when women use being pregnant as an excuse for everything…however unfortunately this time I have had a better idea of why that’s easy to do!

This pregnancy has been different from my first, unfortunately not in a good way. The first trimester was AWFUL. Can I say that again? AWFUL!!! It’s not like my first pregnancy was symptom free – I did have some morning sickness and general nausea in the first three months and I was tired…but I don’t remember it affecting my day to day routine THAT much. THIS time has been a different story. I have totally turned into one of those women – who use pregnancy as an excuse for everything. But I can’t help it! I swear! You can ask my husband – I was not a bad pregnant wife last time! I was pretty good actually! Not too much complaining, no weird cravings, no excuses! I was busy! I was active! My life didn’t slow down when I got pregnant. However this second time *sigh* I feel like (at least for the first three, three and a half months) my life stopped. I spent many of the first days in bed, all day, no joke. I couldn’t eat anything. When I did it just made me nauseous or it didn’t stay down. I was beyond tired – I was like a zombie and feeling sick 24/7 I think made me even more tired. Literally some days it was a task just to shower and come out of the bedroom for a while! I am so thankful for my husband and the fact that we have help to watch Ezra! I just did not have the energy to deal with a toddler for long. I remember counting down…telling my hubby… “only 4 more weeks and I should be feeling better” … “I just have to get to 12 weeks! Only 2 more weeks – an end in sight!” … “ugh – I’m 13 weeks and no change!” … “Seriously, 16 weeks and STILL feeling like crap?! If this lasts the whole pregnancy this might be our last child.”

I am now 18 weeks. I am happy (relieved, really) to report there has been a noticeable improvement in the last 2 weeks. Though I still have random moments of nausea and I am still tired, I do make it out of bed every morning, I shower, I even go out and do things. I am back involved at church and in ministry – life is busy for me again.

Knowing how awful the first four months were this time I am just grateful it was only four. I do know women who feel horrible throughout the whole pregnancy and my appreciation for those women has increased significantly! It’s just not fun trying to do life when you constantly feel like you might up-chuck. So now with the worst behind me, I am finally starting to enjoy this pregnancy! Baby is moving more and more, getting stronger and stronger and this is the fun part for me. I still have the pregnancy woes – I’ve traded in nausea for indigestion and heartburn but I’ll take it! (Like I have a choice). There is a reason little newborn babies are SO cute. I can’t wait to hold this little one. But for now…I am trying to enjoy every moment – even the unpleasant ones -because I know it’s part of the package. Ultimately we need to vent sometimes because it can just be frustrating, but at the end of the day we know it’s worth it. Worth it to bring a little person into this world. It’s a miracle and I am no less amazed this second time around.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. RintheLovely
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 20:08:47

    Just like me! that is exactly how I feel right now. I feel disgusting. Glad to know that there is hope though and I can return to normal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Safari Nzuri

Katie in Tanzania

Musings in Mwanza

Things are what they are, we suffer because we imagined differently

salomonslivingabroad

Family, adventure, and ministry all rolled into one!

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

Kathy's Adventures

my God inspired leap of faith serving in Honduras

McAlisters

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

[Room]ination

the corners of my mind

Jeromey Martini's blog

A blog about Christian leadership, the New Testament - and anything else that comes to mind

jeannellyjay

Your life is a time to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all aspects of you. Tinker with shit, pack light && travel far. Explore, love a little, smile a lot, && never, ever touch the ground. It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself & to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary!

STOPOVER

En Route ... But Aren't We All?

BIRD'S EYE VIEW

Scrutinising the Story Behind the Story - Bold & Edifying

The Upside-Down Kingdom

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

The Martins' Western Adventures

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

isn't that the craziest thing

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

New and Better Everyday

Dreaming. Living. Believing

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

