My Monday Morning Woes

After being ‘out of the loop’ as far as the blogging world goes for a week because of work, I had wanted my first post this week to be…well…a number of things that this post just won’t end up being. *sigh* Oh well…

Today after a VERY busy week I hoped it would be a simple morning…wake up (albeit earlier than I’d like), get ready, get Ezra ready and head to drop him off at daycare for the morning. Then I would have a coffee, check some emails maybe write a post on Journey with Jade and then go get some groceries before heading back to pick him up at noon. This would have been nice. Was it really too much to ask?

I woke up late. Therefore Ezra woke up late. It was a rush to get ready and get out the door, but we managed to only leave a few minutes later than normal. Then it started … the traffic was absolutely INSANE. OK, it’s always crazy here but this morning was more nuts than usual. We sat for 10 minutes without moving. Then we finally started moving and moved about 20 feet. Then we stopped again for about 5 minutes, then we moved up a bit, inched forward – you get the idea…it was a VERY long trip. It’s a bit far and normally takes us 25-30 minutes (with the normal, expected amount of traffic). Today it took me just under an hour to get there. But that’s not the best (or worst) part! Before we even got there, Ezra coughed so hard he puked. I had nowhere to stop. So after driving the last 15 minutes inhaling the strong puke odor filling the car, we finally arrived. We were already 40 minutes late. I cleaned Ezra up, cleaned his car seat and the car floor, changed his shirt and literally 10 seconds after I had finished and was about to take him into daycare…he proceeds to throw up again! I felt like crying. (And screaming – to no one in particular – “I HAVEN’T EVEN HAD COFFEE YET! GIVE ME A BREAK!” – But I restrained myself, of course).

So what to do? I cleaned him up for the second time, having to leave his shirt on since I didn’t have another (but thankfully he mostly puked on the ground outside the second time). Then I put him back in the car, told daycare that he was sick and wouldn’t be in today and then turned around to face the traffic again and head home. Of course I called my husband to share my sad and frustrating tale and get some sympathy first. There was traffic on the way back too but thankfully I made it home in about 35 minutes. Ezra fell asleep in the car and I was able to move him to bed and he slept for a good two hours. Obviously he wasn’t feeling quite right. Thankfully after he woke up he seems fine and there has been no more vomiting for which I am grateful.

So, how was your Monday morning?

Leave a Reply

Safari Nzuri

Katie in Tanzania

The space in between

Because most days we live in the mess in the middle

salomonslivingabroad

Family, adventure, and ministry all rolled into one!

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

Kathy's Adventures

my God inspired leap of faith serving in Honduras

McAlisters

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

[Room]ination

the corners of my mind

Jeromey Martini's blog

A blog about Christian leadership, the New Testament - and anything else that comes to mind

jeannellyjay

Your life is a time to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all aspects of you. Tinker with shit, pack light && travel far. Explore, love a little, smile a lot, && never, ever touch the ground. It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself & to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary!

STOPOVER

En Route ... But Aren't We All?

BIRD'S EYE VIEW

Scrutinising the Story Behind the Story - Bold & Edifying

The Upside-Down Kingdom

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

The Martins' Western Adventures

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

isn't that the craziest thing

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

New and Better Everyday

Dreaming. Living. Believing

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

