POOPED!

*Note* I wrote this on Friday and then WordPress or my computer or both were having issues and I wasn’t able to post. The “good” news is I’m STILL tired (and actually have a cold now) so this posting is still relevant. 😉

Hello all!

I apologize — I have been “away” for a while now and haven’t kept up my writing commitment. It has been a very busy week or so. We did a whirlwind trip to Nairobi for an event – 4 days, 3 nights – 2 whole days of which were spent driving there and back! I don’t want to be in a van for a VERY long time. My back is still recovering. It was an overnight event we went for, so between the travel time, and the overnight event…it was about 4 nights in a row for me of less than 4-5 hours of sleep! If you know me at all, you know this is just not acceptable! I’m not one of those people who can run on such little sleep so many days in a row…I was so tired by the time we got home – though I was excited to see my little guy! (This was the first time we’d left him for longer than one night – he did fine, I’m not sure how I did – I survived). Then the last few nights Ezra has been sick and up half the night, and then yesterday morning he woke up at 4am and decided he didn’t want to go back to bed! So I never really got a chance to recover from the trip! So all this to say, I’m exhausted! I’m hoping that this weekend will be restful, since next week is going to be another busy one, with my hubby teaching an evening class EVERY night of the week 6-9pm!

To add to my exhaustion I thought it would be a good week to start serious potty training! HA! I took the whole week off, and didn’t plan anything, but to stay home with Ezra and train. He’s been going consistently on the potty morning and evening but we hadn’t made the jump yet to underwear. It’s actually gone fairly well (at least from what I can tell based on other moms’ stories). The first day was super tiring – he went through 6 pairs of underwear in 4 hours and I was about ready to forget it! But the second day he redeemed himself and my hope in him getting it, by only having two small accidents. So this is where we are now: he’s wearing underwear all day, and pull-ups for nap (when he has one) and night time. He’s doing pretty well for a boy his age I think. He’s 28 months, but he’s BIG for his age, looks more like 3 years. He is mostly keeping dry – he’s having a couple accidents a day, but is slowly starting to get the whole process. I am being really diligent in taking him to the potty OFTEN, like every half hour or so. Otherwise he gets distracted and won’t tell me he has to go. He HAS told me a couple times, “potty!” then actually gone successfully so that’s been encouraging. I feel like in a few weeks time, if we stay consistent, he will be trained during the day. I’m not worried about the night that can take a while.

So it’s been a tiring week, but also a good one. I’m looking forward to the weekend. I hope to be writing more often again now that I’m slowly getting my beauty sleep back up to where it should be 😉

Leave a Reply

Safari Nzuri

Katie in Tanzania

The space in between

Because most days we live in the mess in the middle

salomonslivingabroad

Family, adventure, and ministry all rolled into one!

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

Kathy's Adventures

my God inspired leap of faith serving in Honduras

McAlisters

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

[Room]ination

the corners of my mind

Jeromey Martini's blog

A blog about Christian leadership, the New Testament - and anything else that comes to mind

jeannellyjay

Your life is a time to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all aspects of you. Tinker with shit, pack light && travel far. Explore, love a little, smile a lot, && never, ever touch the ground. It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself & to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary!

STOPOVER

En Route ... But Aren't We All?

BIRD'S EYE VIEW

Scrutinising the Story Behind the Story - Bold & Edifying

The Upside-Down Kingdom

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

The Martins' Western Adventures

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

isn't that the craziest thing

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

New and Better Everyday

Dreaming. Living. Believing

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

