Lazy, Rainy, Gilmore Girls Days…

gilmore_girls

YES! I am a Gilmore Girls groupie, I admit it! And if you’re a guy, or you hate the show, you’ll just have to bear with me for this post.

I have the whole series on DVD, all seven seasons. And for the last few years I go through the whole series at least once a year (usually twice). I never get tired of it for some reason. Even though I know what will happen next, the quick pace and catchy one-liners make me smile.

Lately it’s been raining in Dar. And by this I mean: we returned to Dar on March 3rd and up until now – May 14th – I believe I can say with 99% accuracy that it has rained, at least part of EVERY day (with the exception of about 5 days) since that time. Over two months of RAIN. LOTS OF RAIN. Streets flooding, ditches overflowing, potholes deepening…but still MORE rain.

Now I can’t say for sure, but I am fairly certain that this rain is making me feel lethargic and lazy. You know how it is on those rainy days…you feel like staying in bed, or curling up with a good book and a cup of tea and never stepping foot outside your house. The problem becomes when you start to feel like this every day! I feel tired. I feel slow. I don’t feel like exercising. I feel like eating chocolate. I feel like staying indoors and watching Gilmore Girls, escaping into their little world. Of course I can’t do this every day. There’s stuff to do! I have deadlines, things coming up, things on the go. School, work, home. It’s a lot! So I find myself in need of some massive motivation to get me out of this slump; even Pintrest isn’t doing it for me lately! I read all the motivational quotes you can think of! I still feel lazy. I go to bed every night thinking and saying to myself, “tomorrow will be better, you will wake up with lots of energy, you will exercise and eat right and be productive!” The problem is when the morning comes, no matter how many hours of sleep I’ve gotten, I still have to drag my sorry, tired, lazy butt out of bed, just the same. (Of course I’ve never been a morning person) but even later in the day, I never really seem to get that burst of energy I crave!

I am however happy to report that there seems to be a light (maybe the sun?!) at the end of this rainy tunnel…in the past week I think we had three sunny days where it didn’t rain at all! I even went swimming one morning and got my tan on! This makes me feel better. I pray this means the rainy season is coming to an end. As much as I like the SLIGHTLY cooler temperatures (like 29 or 30 degrees Celsius instead of +35), I miss the SUN! Rain is good. It’s refreshing. Things are VERY green. But after two and a half straight months of it, its con list is growing.

So back to Gilmore Girls, my other world for the past few weeks. Since I’ve been watching so much of this show lately, I find myself wondering why I like it so much? I mean it’s girly, it’s got enough drama to keep it interesting, but not so much that it’s completely unbelievable, I get to imagine what it would be like to eat like crap and manage to look like them, it’s light and quirky and funny and quick — but I realized that much of it I can’t relate to. I am not a single mom (shout out to single parents – I don’t know how you do it, you are amazing!), I don’t have very wealthy parents who I can never get along with, I don’t live in a small town, and the list goes on. However I realized many of the things I can’t relate to are mostly things I’m thankful I can’t relate to. Watching this show makes me grateful for the amazing relationships I have in my life. The fact that I get along SO well with my parents is high on this list. I know many people don’t have that (and not just Lorelei on the show, but many real-life people). I have a loving husband, supportive families on both sides, amazing friends all over the world. I am so blessed. Above all I have a relationship with God. I have Him to turn to when I feel like there is no one else. I am never alone and He will never leave me. The confidence and hope that goes along with that is something I can’t even describe, but I am so thankful for.

So the circle goes like this:

I am tired of the rain. It makes me feel lazy. I procrastinate. I have watched way too many episodes of Gilmore Girls (if that’s possible). It has been a nice escape. The show has made me think. I am grateful for the many amazing relationships I am blessed with in my life. I am thankful for God’s unconditional love for me. Therefore – I guess I really am thankful for the rain – which has brought all of this about (even though it has also brought about flooding, crazy huge potholes and insane traffic). I hope you followed that train of thought.

So I am thankful for the rain, but still hopeful for the sunshine’s return. And at least I got one task accomplished today! 😉

What do you like to do on rainy days?
What gives you more energy?
What are you thankful for?

Until next time…
Enjoy your day, rainy or otherwise!

PS. I will have you know today is rainy. Again.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The List | The Travels of Jackie

Leave a Reply

Safari Nzuri

Katie in Tanzania

The space in between

Because most days we live in the mess in the middle

salomonslivingabroad

Family, adventure, and ministry all rolled into one!

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

Kathy's Adventures

my God inspired leap of faith serving in Honduras

McAlisters

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

[Room]ination

the corners of my mind

Jeromey Martini's blog

A blog about Christian leadership, the New Testament - and anything else that comes to mind

jeannellyjay

Your life is a time to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all aspects of you. Tinker with shit, pack light && travel far. Explore, love a little, smile a lot, && never, ever touch the ground. It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself & to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary!

STOPOVER

En Route ... But Aren't We All?

BIRD'S EYE VIEW

Scrutinising the Story Behind the Story - Bold & Edifying

The Upside-Down Kingdom

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

The Martins' Western Adventures

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

isn't that the craziest thing

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

New and Better Everyday

Dreaming. Living. Believing

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

