My Beautiful Little Boy…Thoughts for Mother’s Day

iphone pics march - april 073iphone pics march - april 016iphone pics march - april 005

Well I could keep adding pictures forever…(I might have the most photographed child ever – you know how it is, especially since he’s our one and only at the moment) but I think you get the picture (pun intended). Now I know I am slightly biased, but is that not the cutest little boy you have ever seen?! I am beyond blessed to say he’s mine.

Becoming a Mom changes everything. Cliche, I know, but I can’t help it – it’s true! Once that little bundle arrives it’s impossible to imagine life without them. My son Ezra is now just over two years old and my memory of our lives before he entered the picture gets fuzzier every day. And you know what? I’m OK with that! He has brought so much joy to our lives. I am guaranteed to smile and laugh EVERY day no matter what I’m facing because of his little face.

My journey to become the best ME I can be most definitely includes being the best MOM I can be. This is not always easy; it can actually be one of the most challenging things in the world. Whether it’s a bad day (I.E. Your two-year-old has managed to unroll the entire toilet paper roll and proceeded to dump ALL of it in the toilet, has peed on the carpet and is now having a terrible-two’s tantrum complete with kicking, screaming, crying, throwing, hitting and rolling around on the floor — all in a 3 minute time span), or struggling with your own insecurities – being a Mommy is super challenging. BUT WAIT! There’s good news! Being a Mom is also, undoubtedly the most rewarding experience I have ever had. On those days when I feel completely drained and like I have nothing else to give it only takes a “wove ooo Mummy” and a kiss to melt my heart and restore my joy.

So while we are all thinking about our Mom’s on this Mother’s Day Weekend I thought I would share two TOP TEN lists with you.

First: The Top Ten Ways My Mom ROCKS!

1. There’s no better way to say this – she’s just the NICEST person you’ll ever meet (those who know my mom, you know what I mean).
2. She will do anything for us (her kids).
3. She always listens.
4. She does thoughtful little things for no reason other than to make you feel special.
5. She’s smells absolutely AMAZING – ALL THE TIME. No joke.
6. She’s the most unselfish person I know. She puts others’ needs before her own, especially the needs of her family.
7. She’s always encouraging and supportive.
8. She gives the best hugs!
9. She’s a giver – if you need it and she has it, it’s yours.
10. She’s the best example for me as a Mom. If I manage to get anywhere close to where she is, I know I will be an amazing Mother.

As my husband says, “My mother-in-law should be in the Bible.” It’s true. Mom, you’re a blessing to me and so many others in more ways than I could ever mention here. So while I am far from my Mom this Mother’s Day, she is never far from my heart. I love you Mom!

Second: The Top Ten things I love about being a Mom!

1. The way it makes me appreciate and love my own Mom in ways I never knew before.
2. It challenges me in every area of my life to be better – for him.
3. The running, cheering and yelling of “MOOOMMMYYYY” that greets me every time I come home.
4. The way it keeps me on my toes!
5. The hugs, kisses and “love you’s”
6. The way his smile melts my heart every time, even though I’ve seen it countless times.
7. It gives me a glimpse of how much God must love me, which is just so hard to comprehend!
8. Watching him discover new things.
9. His little hand finding mine.
10. I am reminded of just how blessed I am every day.

How has motherhood changed you for the better?

How does your own Mom ROCK? Think of a few ways and then GO TELL HER! It will make her day.

Happy Mother’s Day Weekend!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Emily Sandford (@skinnyemmie)
    May 13, 2013 @ 04:24:48

    Your mom is also extremely kind to strangers – always words of encouragement 🙂 Happy Mother’s Day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Safari Nzuri

Katie in Tanzania

Musings in Mwanza

Things are what they are, we suffer because we imagined differently

salomonslivingabroad

Family, adventure, and ministry all rolled into one!

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

Kathy's Adventures

my God inspired leap of faith serving in Honduras

McAlisters

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

[Room]ination

the corners of my mind

Jeromey Martini's blog

A blog about Christian leadership, the New Testament - and anything else that comes to mind

jeannellyjay

Your life is a time to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all aspects of you. Tinker with shit, pack light && travel far. Explore, love a little, smile a lot, && never, ever touch the ground. It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself & to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary!

STOPOVER

En Route ... But Aren't We All?

BIRD'S EYE VIEW

Scrutinising the Story Behind the Story - Bold & Edifying

The Upside-Down Kingdom

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

The Martins' Western Adventures

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

isn't that the craziest thing

Join me on my journey to become the best version of ME I can be...

New and Better Everyday

Dreaming. Living. Believing

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

